Call us today
(402) 827-7000

Important Nebraska Law Changes in 2024

Minimum Wage

The Nebraska Minimum Wage Statute Initiative was passed in November of 2022. This law raises the minimum wage annually through 2026. Per the Initiative, the minimum wage increased to $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2024 from the previous 2023 minimum wage of $10.50 per hour . The minimum wage will increase again to $13.50 per hour in 2025 and then finally to $15.00 per hour in 2026. After 2026, minimum wage will be adjusted going forward based on cost-of-living increases.

 

Motorcycle Helmet Laws

An amendment to Nebraska’s current helmet laws now allows motorcycle riders the choice of whether they want to wear a helmet while riding. Motorcycle riders have to meet a few requirements before they can ride without a helmet.

For residents of Nebraska, the rider must be 21 years of age and must have successfully completed a Basic Motorcycle Safety Course. For out of state residents, the rider must be 21 years of age and have taken an equivalent motorcycle safety course and carry a proof of completion. All riders, however, must still wear protective glasses, goggles, or have a windshield on their motorcycle.

The amendment also reduces violation of the helmet law from a primary offense to a secondary offense. This means the police cannot pull you over for a violation of the helmet law, but during a stop for any other infraction a rider can be cited for violating the updated helmet law.

 

“Achieving a Better Life Experience Program”

New changes to Nebraska’s existing “Achieving a Better Life Program” became operative as of September of 2023. This change allows the account owner or personal representative of a designated beneficiary to distribute the balance of the account to an individual or individuals specified by the designated beneficiary, the account owner, or the personal representative of the designated beneficiary. This change only applies if the balance of an account on the date of death of the designated beneficiary is less than or equal to $5,000.

 

The law is always changing, and it can be hard to keep track of every change. If you have any questions about new changes in Nebraska’s law or are wondering how these changes will impact you, contact Berkshire & Burmeister’s experienced attorneys.

Request a consultation
*FIELD REQUIRED
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.